Staff + Leadership

Rev. John Asher

John discovered the depths of God's love when he was in the youth group at Columbia Presbyterian Church in Vancouver, WA.  Through the gift of caring mentorship, he was instilled with a passion for ministry.  He believes deeply in helping remove the barriers that separate us from our true identity in Christ. To serve that purpose, he holds a Master of Counseling from Fordham University and a Master of Divinity from Fuller Seminary.  Prior to professional ministry, he served as a head of staff for a technology education company.  He now lives in Puyallup with his wife and two sons.

Mattie Garcia

Youth Ministries Coordinator
Mattie lives in Puyallup with her husband and their many animals (3 cats, 2 dogs and the occasional stray that she adopts for a night). She will graduate with a BA in Child Development and Education in spring 2024, and has served as a Sunday School teacher, peer mentor, ESL tutor, and volunteered with children in many capacities. She owes the youth ministries in her past churches a huge thank you for the faith she has today, and is passionate about spreading God’s love to the children she works with. She is honored and blessed to be joining SOTH as the Youth Ministry Coordinator, and is thrilled to watch these amazing kids grow in their walk with God.

Gina Sharp

Admin & Communications Manager
Gina has been on the staff at Shepherd of the Hill since 1997. She enjoys assisting the staff, leaders, and members of the congregation -- as well as others in our community. In her spare time, she enjoys spending time with her family, photography, flower gardening, genealogy, wine tasting and cooking.

Kathryn Lehmann

Choir Director
Kathryn has a Master of Music in Voice Performance and Pedagogy from Westminister Choir College in Princeton, NJ.  She has taught vocal music in public elementary schools and colleges.  Currently she serves as a Voice Instructor as part of the University of Puget Sound's Community Music Department.

Ken Emly

Ken has been Treasurer for several years.
In his free time he enjoys cooking with Valerie,
and walking to help prevent the good eating from gaining ground. He volunteers at Multicare and really, really misses the NICU babies.

Sheri Martin

Sheri has been the pianist at Shepherd of the Hill since 2005.  She loves being part of the choir family and appreciates the congregation's joyful participation in music.  Sheri's interests include traveling, gardening, reading, and finding interesting stories in her family history.

Sharilyn Brown

Sharilyn has been Shepherd's custodian off and on for many years. She feels it's important to help make our Church a welcoming space. Sharilyn's other interests are spending time walking her dog, reading, and socializing with friends and family.

Breann Franklin

Nursery Attendant
Breann has been a caregiver for 15 years. She is a mother of two and it has been such a joy. She loves working in the nursery and getting to know other families with the children, as she has a loving spirit. Her goal is to bring love, comfort, and worship as Jesus works within us.

Board of Session

“It is the duty of elders, individually and jointly, to strengthen and nurture the faith and life of the congregation committed to their charge. Together with the pastor, they should encourage the people in the worship and service of God, equip and renew them for their tasks within the church and for their mission in the world...”

 Their meetings are usually held on the third Wednesday of each month at 7:00 p.m.

Clerk of Session: Pat Williams
Class of 2024
Janice Duvall . . . Worship Committee
John Stevens . . . Fellowship Committee
Class of 2025
Merry Pantaleo . . . Christian Education Committee
Kim Randall . . . Property & Grounds Committee
Class of 2026
Don Bennett . . . Administration Committee
Ron Hale . . . Mission Committee

Board of Deacons

Class of 2024
Bev Cascio
Barbara Kendall
Ruth Kennon
Brad Maxa
Class of 2025
Anne Bennett . . . Moderator
Rose Marie Heath
Class of 2026
Susan Starkel
Mary Kay Wilson
Jan Zimmerman